[Request] Amiga Emulator development

Discuss existing features and requests for new features using [REQUEST] in the title
Forum rules
Discussions only around the RetroX application. Links to ROMs or request for them are forbidden. Insisting users will be banned
User avatar
steviebwoy
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

[Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby steviebwoy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:39 am

It would be great to have HDF support for the Amiga emulator please as it's much quicker to load games. I can't get the emulator to recognise HDF files currently.

Also, it would be really great to have keyboard support (I have a bluetooth keyboard controller) along with a virtual keyboard - maybe click on the right stick would bring it up etc.
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby fcatrin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:28 pm

would HDF require to boot workbench and use a mouse?
The idea is to boot directly into the games

The virtual Android TV compatible keyboard will be added
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
pob1973
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:15 am

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby pob1973 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:58 pm

I agree that hdf support would be great.

Some Amiga games come on loads of disks, and could be hard drive installed, saving on having to disk swap. I've not seen how the emulator handles games with more than 2 disks yet...I'm guessing it could get very messy with the likes of Cruise for a Corpse which is on 5 disks, or even worse for Indiana Jones and the fate of Atlantis, which is 11 disks.

Those examples can be played using ScummV but it would still be good to see how the Amiga emulator handles them
User avatar
steviebwoy
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby steviebwoy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:12 pm

fcatrin wrote:would HDF require to boot workbench and use a mouse?
The idea is to boot directly into the games

The virtual Android TV compatible keyboard will be added


No, it's just a file that's loaded in the same way as an .adf file. I don't know lots about it, but you can load hardfiles (hdf) with UAE4Arm really easily. It's like combining .adf files, so you won't need to swap discs.
User avatar
steviebwoy
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby steviebwoy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:20 pm

Here's the .hdf file I'm trying desperately to run. It's SWOS 2016/17.

Sensible World of Soccer 2016/17
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby fcatrin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:20 pm

pob1973 wrote:I've not seen how the emulator handles games with more than 2 disks yet...I'm guessing it could get very messy with the likes of Cruise for a Corpse which is on 5 disks, or even worse for Indiana Jones and the fate of Atlantis, which is 11 disks.


In RetroX you open the options menu inside the game, select Disk Swap and that's all. Some games can read the disks from several drives, so you also can select 4 drives and that will require no swap in most games.
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby fcatrin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:23 pm

I can see that the emulator supports HDF files, so it may be a matter of adding the file name extensions to the list of allowed files

Captura de pantalla 2017-04-13 18.14.44.png
Captura de pantalla 2017-04-13 18.14.44.png (18.54 KiB) Viewed 3278 times
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
User avatar
steviebwoy
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby steviebwoy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:25 pm

fcatrin wrote:I can see that the emulator supports HDF files, so it may be a matter of adding the file name extensions to the list of allowed files

UAE4All2 src

:shock: Oh my God! Please try this! I'd be more than happy to test this for you!
User avatar
steviebwoy
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby steviebwoy » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:35 pm

Just noticed you're using UAE4All2 - yep, that should support HDF files perfectly.

UAE4All2 has now been superseded by UAE4Arm I think?

Interestingly, UAE4Arm supports Amiga CD32 as well ;) ;) ;)
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: [Request] Amiga Emulator development

Postby fcatrin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 9:40 pm

steviebwoy wrote:Just noticed you're using UAE4All2 - yep, that should support HDF files perfectly.

UAE4All2 has now been superseded by UAE4Arm I think?

Interestingly, UAE4Arm supports Amiga CD32 as well ;) ;) ;)


Probably, UAE4All2 seems stagnated.
And oh yes, the best is to move to UAE4Arm but that's a longer route.
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer

Return to “Features”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests