RetroX Dosbox

Discuss existing features and requests for new features using [REQUEST] in the title
Forum rules
Discussions only around the RetroX application. Links to ROMs or request for them are forbidden. Insisting users will be banned
Retroash

RetroX Dosbox

Postby Retroash » Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:19 pm

This is my first time exploring Dosbox but I am already liking it, however like with the Amiga I am unable to map custom controls. Is there a way to bring up an onscreen keyboard as some games require you to type ur name or something to start.

I have tried using keymap.conf file but the emulator is ignoring it.
fcatrin
Site Admin

Re: RetroX Dosbox

Postby fcatrin » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:33 pm

DOS uses the same mechanism as Amiga, unless there is something broken that I haven't test it.

What may change are the key names, for example this is my keymap for Aladdin

UP = KEY_UP
DOWN = KEY_DOWN
LEFT = KEY_LEFT
RIGHT = KEY_RIGHT
BTN_A = KEY_SPACE
BTN_B = KEY_LEFTCTRL
BTN_X = KEY_ENTER
BTN_Y = KEY_LEFTALT
SELECT = KEY_ESC
START = KEY_ENTER
EXIT = KEY_ESC

There is no Android TV compatible keyboard yet
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
Retroash

Postby Retroash » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:45 pm

Hi Franco. Tried this and it is indeed broken and not using the Keymap.Conf file using the template you posted.

The defualt template also needs to change as its useless for most dos games

Like the Amiga. Dpad cannot be configured.

Also the dosbox addon usually crashes when trying to exit on most of the games i have tried.

Also Screamer 2 says its unable to start becuae it needs more ram. I have set everything in the gui to max 8mb

The dosbox config file also doesnt seem to get used as the gui still asks which exe/bat to use when launching a game.
fcatrin
Site Admin

Postby fcatrin » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:43 pm