support for bliss box possible ?

Compatibility and performance of existing hardware
Forum rules
Before posting your questions, please check our official Hardware guide at http://retrox.tv/hardware
User avatar
teaddict4ever
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Europe

support for bliss box possible ?

Postby teaddict4ever » Mon Feb 05, 2018 2:15 pm

Hello !
I'm using right now a bliss blox on my PC.
( http://skunx7.wixsite.com/bliss-box )

To sum up : a USB Hub for PC. You can then plug your old controller on it.... and the list is pretty massive ! :o

Super Nintendo Entertainment System ( snes )
Nintendo Entertainment System ( nes )
Nintendo Virtual Boy
Nintendo 64 ( n64 )
Nintendo GameCube ( gc )
Nintendo Wii Remote Expansion Port
Sony PlayStation/PlayStation 2 ( psx ps2 )
DB9 (Sega SG-1000, Sega Master System, Sega Genesis, Atari 2600, Atari 7800, Commodore 64, Commodore Amiga CD32, ColecoVision, Mattel Intellivision, Amstrad GX-4000, Panasonic 3DO, Bally Astrocade, Sinclair ZX Spectrum)
Sega Saturn
Sega Dreamcast ( dc )
DH15 (Atari 5200, SNK Neo Geo AES)
Atari Jaguar
NEC PC Engine / TurboGrafx 16 (Full/Mini)
NEC PC-FX
GCE Vectrex
Apple Bandai Pippin ATMARK

Do you think you can support this "addon" ? :?:
Hardware used : Nvidia Shield TV (2017) 16Go + 1 Hdd 2 To
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 1058
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby fcatrin » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:46 pm

That's awesome!

On the USB side I think it will send standard gamepad buttons (A, B, X, Y, L1, L2, START, SELECT, etc). In theory you would only need to map the buttons using any controller.

If not, I need to know how it fails to fix it.
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
User avatar
teaddict4ever
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Europe

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby teaddict4ever » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:55 pm

ok !
i need to check. I pass my bliss box to a friend , in order to test it on his PC.

It's really good to play emulators with the REAL controller ! ;)
Hardware used : Nvidia Shield TV (2017) 16Go + 1 Hdd 2 To
ulao
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:12 pm

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby ulao » Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:45 pm

Hey guys, thought I’d jump on here and help out.



The Bliss-box has an internal mapping system. This helps mapping from controller to controller. So if you are in the game playing with an nes controller, you can swap that out for an n64 controller and A and B match up. So the HID interface will see all controllers as one. Once you map in an app, all controls will just line up.



If you upgrade your Bliss-Box to 2.0 you can unlock a lot of features. One is the mapper tool. This lets you set up alternative mappings. There is a built-in selection for Android (that’s what you want). You can save this config to the port.



Admin, if you are familiar with how the HID feature reports work, there is an api with 2.0. See api.Bliss-Box.net . You can send data to the adapter and get data back. For example, you can ask what controller is plugged in. Or upon plugging in nes, run the nes emulator, etc… The API has a lot of advanced functions that can be utilized ranging from; rumble, LCD writing, Mempack reading, and even native talk to the controller itself. Though to the simplest things like, what player port is this, what controller is plugged in, or info about the button states (psx pressure buttons) are also available.



But to answer the OP, yes it should work fine and runs on the shield but I would upgrade to 1.56.1 or the new 2.0 first.
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 1058
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby fcatrin » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:04 pm

From what you said I guess that if you map an SNES controller once, then the NES controller will work without further mapping?

If that is the case it will work right away.
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer
ulao
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:12 pm

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby ulao » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:25 pm

Yes I always suggest to map a psx controller first. Because this way it maps everything the Bliss-Box has to offer.

If you use 2.0 and select android it auto maps the standard android report. I tested this with a HID game pad test app. So in this case your mapping should be 1 for 1. 1:1 2:2 3:3 etc...
User avatar
fcatrin
Site Admin
Posts: 1058
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:28 pm
Location: Quilpué, Chile
Contact:

Re: support for bliss box possible ?

Postby fcatrin » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:57 pm

Thanks!

Let's wait for the user report.
Franco Catrin
RetroX developer

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests